Uncategorized

Computing – Pitfalls of a new subject

I read a really good article the other day which compared learning to program to leaning to read and write in the middle ages. It goes on to give two good criticisms of the accessibility of programming to students. Firstly, setting up and choosing your language and environment is a lengthy and difficult process. For the most part, I make the decisions on behalf of my students about what language we will learn and what IDE we will use, but that’s largely because I have a degree in Computer Science. Many teachers are not in this position and rely on the experiences of others to make the choice, and are often ludicrously limited by what technicians arbitrarily decide should be “allowed on the network”.

Secondly, students are often taught programming for programming’s sake, and they find it hard to understand why and when they would actually want to use this knowledge. I totally get this one. I remember age 15 or so buying a book about JavaScript and expecting to learn how to make all manner of cool web stuff (read: stuff that was cool in the 90’s), and then feeling minorly cheesed off that it covered basic mathematical operations and alert boxes for about the first 10 pages.

I feel that encased in the first term’s worth of “oh no I have to teach Computing and I don’t know what I’m doing” panic, people are in danger of losing the plot and falling into these holes. Here are my top tips for avoiding the pitfalls I’m observing at the moment:

Share the point with the students

DON’T: The students need to and deserve to know why they are now being taught Computer Science. The answer is not “because I said so” or “because the government said so”;)

DO: Remind them of how often they use a computer, including devices they won’t even consider to be computers. Show them what they could do with the things you’re teaching them – my students love it when I tell them they could make money making web pages using the skills I’m teaching them right there right now. Make them part of your “in crowd” by helping them understand things they’ve seen before (did they know there are 10 types of people in the world?) And if you can’t persuade that one annoying “but I don’t want to be a programmer when I grow up” kid, you’ve still won because being able to create programs is just totally amazingly awesome.

You are not the most important person in the room

DON’T: Fall into the ‘sage on the stage’ trap. Your objective should not be to make yourself famous online by boasting about the most fantastico wizz bang lesson you’ve done with 15 ipads, a lego mindstorm kit and a tweeting skunk. I really don’t care how many Christmas cards you got or followers you have on Twitter.

DO: Your job is to craft your lessons so that every one of those people in front of you is able to discover the coolness of Computing for themselves. Not all of them will love it, but that’s OK. It’s not a popularity contest, it’s mainstream education.

Step away from the budget

DON’T: Reach for the departmental credit card and order some scheme of work from the first leaflet that flops into your pigeon hole/ go on a course because it’s held in the nicest looking hotel / order a set of books from the rep with the coolest hairdo etc. STOP PANIC BUYING. A lot of these companies are fearmongers who can smell your terror and want to use it to pry your school’s money from your stressed white knuckled hands. I have had a lot of marketing thrown at me this year, and I’d say about 10% of the things on offer were products I actually thought were good value for money, would result in good lessons or were something it wasn’t worth producing myself.

DO: You’re a trained teacher – you know how to produce resources, you know how to teach, you’re a professional. Take a deep breath and go and have a good look at all of the free stuff that is out there to help you – lots of it is really good. Don’t write it off because it’s free.

Everybody likes to be appreciated

DON’T: If other teachers have been kind enough to share their stuff to make your life easier, the surest way to piss them off is to copy and paste their stuff into your own document, plaster your own name on it and post it on CAS as your own resource (or with a blasé “I got some of this stuff from some other people, thanks xoxox” declaration somewhere in size 8 font).

DO: If someone made a nice resource, drop them an email and say thanks – you’ll probably make their day and end up with a new and very useful teacher buddy!

The point of the task is not to accomplish the task

DON’T: I’ve seen teachers get so enthusiastic about the end result of a programming task that they forget that the whole point isn’t the result, it’s the journey. If I set a task, let’s say I asked students to write a quiz program, it is not because I really need a quiz program in my life. If I need a quiz program I will write my own quiz program. (Well, actually I’d probably Google one.) The point of the task is the THINKING process that the students need to go through to get to the end product. There is no point setting tasks where students essentially copy out code because you’ll end up with a class set full of identical programs and no one any the wiser.

DO: Set tasks as a scaffold – something interesting to do that also covers the things you are trying to teach. Sometimes students will spend an hour doing their homework and will not come up with the answer – this is perfectly OK. If they are having trouble, make it a default behaviour for them to note down or explain to you/a friend the things they tried to do in their program and why they think their attempts didn’t work. Not completely finishing a program perfectly is fine, as long as they learnt something along the way.

4 thoughts on “Computing – Pitfalls of a new subject

  1. Just a little note about relevance (and the kid who absolutely does not want to be a programmer)….

    I’m not a teacher, but I do volunteer in schools and do quite a few careers talks. I’ve also volunteered at the Big Bang Fair, where I got to hang around with all sorts of scientists, engineers and mathematicians I’d never normally meet, and I was surprised by how many scientists code. And those who do are among the most enthusiastic coders (or at least scripters) I’ve ever met – they don’t know what they’d do if they couldn’t create their own models and crunch their own data. (Learn to code, I expect. That’s how lots of us fall into it.)

    So if I’m at a very quiet ICT/Computing stall at a careers fair, I usually wander around in the vicinity of the STEM stalls, and sing the praises of coding for biologists, oceanographers and climatologists, or pretty much any other subject where being able to crunch through data and build your own models gives you an advantage over those who can’t do it themselves. Hopefully I’ve opened a few minds to the idea that computing is relevant for careers outside of IT.

    Then there are the journalists – if you can write *and* you can crunch data, you have a head start on your competition and you might spot things nobody else does. Musicians? Yep, you can do some crazy things with MIDI and Arduino just for starters. Artists? Do most kids even know that drawing landscapes for video games is a job? (Also at Big Bang I once stopped by a Land Surveying exhibit to chat about theodolites – turns out one of the exhibitor’s past students went on to design CGI landscapes for movies and now lives and works in Hollywood. Which also requires coding.)

    I make a big talking point of combining coding and IT skills with whatever else students are already into because that’s what keeps it interesting and because, years later, when they’ve accumulated all these interests and experiences, that’s how they get hired for amazing jobs which nobody else could do quite as well as them 🙂

    1. schöne auwlhas. und endlich mal nicht einer der großen hits an denen man sich schon mitte der 90er satt gehört hatte, wie man sie heute auf so vielen anderen blogs findet.

Leave a Reply

